ESA group nominates Josef Aschbacher as next ESA Director-General; ratification vote set for Dec. 16-17

by Peter B. de Selding

PARIS — Josef Aschbacher of Austria, director of Earth observation at the 22-nation European Space Agency (ESA), has been nominated as the next ESA Director-General by a vote of ESA governments, a selection that's expected to be ratified by these same governments in mid-December, government and industry officials said.

Aschbacher’s selection followed a five-month recruitment process by a committee led by Anna Rathsman of Sweden, chairman of ESA's council and director-general of the Swedish National Space Agency. The candidate list was trimmed . . .

To view the entire article, become a subscriber!

You may also like